Research in Macroecology and Biodiversity Conservation

Modelling unicorns to improve our capacity to accurately model real species

This is the repost of an article we wrote for the Ecography blog In 1990, Stuart H. Hurlbert analysed the “Spatial Distribution of the Montane Unicorn”. The Montane Unicorn was a rare organism, at that time only recently described, and Hurlbert was the first to report data on this singular species. His data showed that unicorn populations had extremely unusual and varying abundance distributions. He therefore analysed these abundance distributions.. Read More

The Anthropocene, or the disturbing beginnings of the era of Man

We are increasingly hearing about “the Anthropocene”, both in and outside of the scientific community. The Anthropocene is a term used by geologists to describe the geological era in which we now live. It means ‘the era of Man’, i.e. the era in which we recognise Man as a major geological force, a force that alters significantly and globally the Earth. Although this term is increasingly used, the Anthropocene is.. Read More

Reduce the number of light bulbs or reduce their consumption?

Environmental destruction hastens as human population increases, and current efforts are unlikely to improve indicator trends. Intuitively, one may consider reducing human population size by a reduction in fertility as one of the most urgent actions to undertake to ensure our future on this planet. It is already the case in developed countries, which have access to contraception, or more drastically in China, with the one-child policy. However, most populations.. Read More

SDMs – Schrödinger Distribution Models

Everybody knows Schrödinger’s cat. That famous cat that would be both dead and alive according to a quantic model. We can make an analogy with predictions of climate change impacts on species distributions. Most of these predictions were done using species distribution models (SDMs). The problem is that SDMs are rather uncertain techniques. A small technical definition Technically, SDMs consist in correlating the occurrence of a species (i.e., places where.. Read More

New job, new website, new projects… new blog!

Until now, the main use of this website was as an online CV, to show my research, and, to be honnest, to help me finding a permanenent position in the retlentless world of research. Well, voilà! It’s done! I’ve been recruited as a lecturer in the Muséum National d’Histoire Naturelle (Paris), in the lab. Biodiversity & Macroecology, UMR Biology of Aquatic Organisms & Ecosystems. I’ve decided to make profit of.. Read More

Future invasions and climate change

Biological invasion is increasingly recognized as one of the greatest threats to biodiversity. The International Union for the Conservation of Nature has defined a list of the “100 of the world’s worst invasive species”. A research team (CNRS / Université Paris-Sud / Université Joseph Fourier Grenoble 1 / Université de Rennes 1 / MNHN / Institute for Environmental Protection and Research, Rome / Netherlands Environmental Assessment Agency) has predicted that.. Read More

Correlation plots in R

I have just released the version 1.2 1.2-1 of the Rarity package, and this new version introduces a new function to make what I called “correlation plots”. These correlation plots provide a synthetic and convenient representation of the correlation between 2 or more variables, allowing an easy analysis. The above figure is an example with data of crab sizes (from the package MASS). The plot is split in two: the.. Read More

Rarity package for calculation of Indices of rarity

The package “Rarity”, which allows calculating rarity indices for species and assemblages of species, is now available on the Comprehensive R Archive Network. This package allows easy calculation of the new indices integrating rarity cut-offs; this flexibility allows fitting indices to the considered taxon, geographical area and/or spatial scale, i.e., to the considered database. See the rarity indices section for more details and examples. This package simply requires occurrence data.. Read More

Recherches en Macroécologie et Conservation de la Biodiversité

Modéliser les licornes pour mieux prédire les espèces réelles

Ceci est le repost d’un article que nous avons écrit pour le blog d’Ecography En 1990, Stuart H. Hurlbert a analysé la “Distribution Spatiale de la Licorne de Montagne”. La Licorne de Montagne était une espèce rare, qui n’avait était décrite que très récemment, et Hurlbert était le premier à signaler des données sur cette espèce spéciale. Ses données montraient que les populations de licornes avaient leurs distributions d’abondance très.. Read More

L’Anthropocène, ou les débuts sinistres de l’ère de l’Homme

On parle de plus en plus de l’anthropocène, dans et hors de la communauté scientifique. L’anthropocène, c’est un terme utilisé par les géologues pour désigner l’ère géologique dans laquelle nous vivons actuellement. Elle signifie plus ou moins « l’ère de l’Homme », c’est-à-dire l’ère dans laquelle on reconnait l’Homme comme une force géologique majeure, une force qui altère significativement et globalement la Terre. Bien que ce terme soit de plus en plus.. Read More

Réduire le nombre d’ampoules ou réduire leur consommation ?

La dégradation de l’environnement s’accélère à mesure que la population humaine s’accroît, et les efforts actuels n’infléchissent pas la tendance des indicateurs, au contraire. Intuitivement, on peut considérer que réduire la taille de la population humaine, en réduisant la fertilité, est l’une des choses les plus urgentes à faire pour assurer notre avenir sur cette planète. C’est déjà en partie le cas dans les pays développés, qui disposent de moyens.. Read More

SDMs : Schrödinger Distribution Models

Tout le monde connait le chat de Schrödinger. Ce fameux chat qui serait à la fois mort et vivant, tel que défini d’après un modèle quantique. On peut s’amuser à faire l’analogie avec les prédictions d’impacts des changements climatiques sur les répartitions d’espèces. La plupart de ces prédictions ont été réalisées par le biais des modèles de prédictions de répartition (abrégés SDMs en anglais). Le problème, c’est que les SDMs.. Read More

Nouveau poste, nouveau site, nouveaux projets… nouveau blog !

Jusqu’à présent ce site me servait principalement de CV en ligne, pour exposer mes recherches et, soyons francs, m’aider à trouver un travail fixe dans le monde impitoyable de la recherche. Hé bien voilà ! C’est fait ! J’ai été recruté en tant que Maître de Conférences au Muséum National d’Histoire Naturelle, dans l’équipe Biodiversité et Macroécologie de l’UMR Biologie des Organismes et Ecosystèmes Aquatiques. J’ai décidé de profiter de.. Read More

Invasions futures et changements climatiques

Les invasions biologiques représentent l’une des plus grandes menaces qui pèsent sur la biodiversité. L’Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature a défini « 100 espèces invasives parmi les pires à travers le monde ». Une équipe de chercheurs (CNRS / Université Paris-Sud / Université Joseph Fourier Grenoble 1 / Université de Rennes 1 / MNHN / Institute for Environmental Protection and Research, Rome / Netherlands Environmental Assessment Agency) vient de.. Read More

Plots de corrélation dans R

La version 1.2-1 du package Rarity vient de sortir, et cette version introduit une nouvelle fonction permettant de faire des « plots de corrélation ». Ces plots de corrélation permettent d’analyser graphiquement et rapidement la corrélation entre deux ou plus variables  avec une représentation synthétique. Ci-dessus un exemple avec des données de taille de crabes (package MASS). Le graphique se décompose en deux : le triangle inférieur gauche présente les relations entre.. Read More

Package Rarity pour calculer des indices de rareté

Le package Rarity permettant de calculer les indices de rareté pour espèces et assemblages d’espèces est disponible sur le Comprehensive R Archive Network. Ce package permet de calculer facilement les nouveaux indices qui intègrent le seuil de rareté ; cette flexibilité permet de les adapter quelque soit le taxon, la zone géographique et/ou l’échelle spatiale auxquels on travaille, c’est-à-dire à la base de donnée sur laquelle on travaille. Voir la.. Read More